Minutes of the Oahu Metropolitan Planning Organization

TECHNICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

October 9th, 2020 Virtual Meeting hosted on Microsoft Teams

Members Present:

Name	Agency	Voting Rights	Present
Ken Tatsuguchi (Chair)	HDOT	Yes	Х
Masatomo Murata	HDOT	Yes	Χ
Jorge Felix (Vice Chair)	HART	Yes	Χ
Ben Trevino	HART	Yes	Χ
Marian Yasuda	DTS	Yes	Χ
Eileen Mark	DTS	Yes	Χ
Dina Wong	DPP	Yes	Χ
Andy Yamaguchi	DPP	Yes	Χ
Joseph Roos	DBEDT	Yes	Χ
Ruby Edwards	OP	Yes	Χ
Kimberly Evans	FAA	Yes	Χ
Ted Matley	FTA	No	
Kyle Oyasato	DFM	No	
Gareth Sakakida	HTA	No	
Tim Trang	DDC	No	
Amy Ford-Wagner	FHWA	No	Χ

Guests Present: Greg Tsugawa (DTS), Sen. Sharon Moriwaki (PB Chair), Rachel Roper (HDOT-HWYS), Riley Fujisaki, Patrick Preusser (DTS)

OahuMPO Staff Present: Alvin Au, Roni Schack, Zakari Mumuni, Nicki Smith, Tori Treviño, Samantha Lara, Kiana Otsuka, Nicole Cernohorsky, Randolph Sykes

The meeting was properly noticed in accordance with State law.

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Tatsuguchi called the meeting to order at 9:02 am.

II. ROLL CALL

Chair Tatsuguchi took roll call by reading out the list of attendees in the meeting as noted in the Teams program.

III. APPROVAL OF THE AUGUST 14TH MEETING MINUTES

Chair Tatsuguchi requested members review the minutes which were emailed to the members in advance of the meeting.

A motion was made by Joseph Roos and seconded by Marian Yasuda to approve the minutes as presented. There were no further discussions, abstentions, or objections and the minutes were approved as corrected. Chair Tatsuguchi proceeded with a roll call vote.

Member	Roll Call Vote	
Ken Tatsuguchi	Aye	
Jorge Felix	Aye	
Andy Yamaguchi	Aye	
Ben Trevino	Aye	
Dina Wong	Aye	
Eileen Mark	Aye	
Marian Yasuda	Aye	
Tomo Murata	Aye	
Joseph Roos	Aye	

IV. REPORTS

A. Executive Director

Director Au announced that the Policy Board welcomed a new member, Senator Sharon Moriwaki and that Neezcha Dinman joined the OahuMPO staff as an Intern.

The OahuMPO held an ORTP Working Group meeting and shared the evaluation of phase one public engagement efforts and discussed the draft of the phase two public involvement plan for the ORTP. Director Au also noted that the OahuMPO has completed the update of its Title VI Implementation Plan.

The Policy Board met on September 29, 2020 and elected a new Chair, State Senator Sharon Moriwaki. Oahu MPO staff and WSP consultants presented an update on the land use data component of the travel demand forecasting model, and DTS provided a presentation to close out the PM Peak Period Tow Away Zone Time Modifications on Urban Arterials study. Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) Division Administrator, Ralph Rizzo provided an update on the Highway Trust Fund, reauthorization of Federal surface transportation programs, and federal stimulus legislation.

The Citizens Advisory Committee met on October 7, 2020 after a six-month interval due to the pandemic crisis. The CAC received a presentation from DTS on Transit Safety Targets, and were informed of the two CAC Study Proposals that were submitted for the Overall Work Program FY2022.

The Executive Director's Report can be viewed at: https://www.oahumpo.org/?wpfb dl=1975

V. OLD BUSINESS

There was no old business to conduct.

VI. NEW BUSINESS

A. Bus and Paratransit Transit Agency Safety Plan - Safety Performance Target Requirements

Greg Tsugawa with the Department of Transportation Services began with a review of the Public Transportation Agency Safety Plan Final Rule (49 C.F.R. Part 673). The National Public Transportation Safety Plan Performance Measures include fatalities, injuries, safety events, and system reliability.

Safety Performance Target Categories include total fatalities, fatalities per total vehicle revenue miles by mode, total injuries, injuries per total vehicle revenue miles by mode, total safety events, safety events per total vehicle revenue miles by mode and system reliability.

Mr. Tsugawa shared annualized National Transit Database (NTD) data for TheBus and Handivan from 2015 through 2019, pointing out that the July 2020 baseline was a 5-year average. Mr. Tsugawa then shared the objectives of Safety Performance Targets.

In closing, Mr. Tsugawa shared web resources for Federal Transit Administration Safety Performance Targets. Greg Tsugawa responded to questions from the committee members regarding coordination with DTS's Vision Zero Action Plan and Safety Performance Targets for rail. OahuMPO staff responded to a question about how OahuMPO will incorporate DTS' transit safety products in required work products.

A motion was made by Marian Yasuda and seconded by Dina Wong to recommend the Policy Board adopt DTS' transit safety targets for the MPO and incorporate those targets into OahuMPO work products. Chair Tatsuguchi then proceeded with a roll call vote.

Member	Roll Call Vote	
Ken Tatsuguchi	Aye	
Jorge Felix	Aye	
Andy Yamaguchi	Aye	
Ben Trevino	Aye	
Dina Wong	Aye	
Eileen Mark	Aye	
Marian Yasuda	Aye	
Tomo Murata	Aye	
Ruby Edwards	Aye	
Joseph Roos	Aye	

B. ORTP 2045 Phase 1 Public Participation Draft Document Presentation

Samantha Lara began the presentation by reviewing the three phases, six goals and six objectives of Public Participation for the ORTP, and described the various Outreach Strategies used in Phase 1.

Ms. Lara then presented the evidence or outcomes related to each objective. For Objective 2.1 related to soliciting participation from a broad range of groups and individuals, Ms. Lara presented socioeconomic data on the individuals reached in Phase 1, including age, income, gender, languages spoken, and residence and noted their representation in surveys, focus groups and in-person outreach events (residence only).

OahuMPO identified a number of areas of improvement for future phases of public outreach. They include rethinking engagement by focus groups, engaging young and middle aged populations, translating materials and meetings to be more linguistically available, and collecting demographic data about participants.

OahuMPO responded to questions from the committee. Chair Tatsuguchi commended the OahuMPO planning team for doing this Phase 1 analysis mid-stream rather than waiting until the ORTP update was complete.

VII. INVITATION TO INTERESTED MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC TO BE HEARD ON MATTERS NOT INCLUDED ON THE AGENDA

There were no matters to be heard.

VIII. ANNOUNCEMENTS

Amy Ford-Wagner announced that Congress passed a continuing resolution, so things will continue for another year under the terms of the FAST Act.

Ms. Ford-Wagner also announced that FHWA is taking a different approach to Safety that is more in line with Vision Zero and using zero fatalities and serious injuries as a goal.

Dina Wong announced that DPP is getting started on an update to the North Shore Sustainable Communities Plan.

IX. ADJOURNMENT

Chair Tatsuguchi adjourned the meeting at 10:07 am.

The meeting's presentation may be viewed at: https://www.oahumpo.org/?wpfb dl=1973